No Free Time

Because my therapist says I need to let things out

Howto: “Object not set to an instance of an object” in Visual Studio 2008 when trying to add a Silverlight project to a solution

with one comment

I installed Visual Studio 2008 SP1 Beta, .Net 3.5 SP1 Beta and the new Silverlight Tools Beta 2, and when I tried to add a new Silverlight project to my solution I got a dialog in Visual Studio with the message “Object not set to an instance of an object”, after which nothing happens and my project was not added.

If you’re having the same problem try these steps:

  1. Open Visual Studio Command Prompt
  2. devenv /resetskippkgs [return]
  3. Close VS
  4. devenv /setup [return]
  5. devenv [return]

Hopefully now you’ll be able to add a Silverlight project to your solution.

Source of this solution here.

Written by Andrew Myhre

July 22, 2008 at 11:38 pm

Posted in .net

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you so much — I had the same problem after uninstalling and reinstalling the Silverlight 3 Tools, after executing your fix above everthing is back up and running.

    Thanks for the great post!

    Guy Starbuck

    November 9, 2009 at 7:30 am


Leave a comment