No Free Time

Because my therapist says I need to let things out

TFS – I’m sorry, I’m not allowed to argue anymore

with 2 comments

So I created some files in my TFS workspace, then forgot about them. Then the branch they were part of was deleted on the server. Oh no!

No I have a whole bunch of ‘Pending Changes’ where the files actually don’t exist in TFS *or* my computer (I deleted them locally too). I can’t Undo them – TFS tells me “No pending changes were found for [file]”. I can’t commit them then delete them. Basically I can’t get rid of them.

This is irrational. Basically TFS is being quite obstinate about it’s belief about the state of my workspace even in the face of the facts that:
a) the files physically don’t exist anymore
b) I *say* they don’t exist anymore

Why is TFS contradicting me? Why can’t TFS just believe me when I say “those files can be totally disregarded, they’re gone, I don’t care, *THIS* is what my workspace should look like”. Instead TFS replies “no it isn’t”.

“Yes it is”
“No it isn’t”
“Yes it is!”
“No it isn’t!”

Sigh.

Written by Andrew Myhre

September 15, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had something very similar (can’t remember the exact details tho). In the end I did something quite drastic but it worked. Shelve or check-in everything. Delete your workspace completely (I used Team foundation sidekicks) and then re-create it.

    Obviously I can’t guarantee that it’ll work for you but worth a shot (if you’ve still got it).

    Richard

    October 29, 2010 at 2:18 pm


Leave a comment